Vuohenoja landscape art competition Jury minutes

#### **Minutes**

Time	16.6.2020 klo14.00 - 15.45 and 17.6.2020 klo 8.30 - 10.00
Place	FISTA, Satakunnankatu 60, Tampere
Present	Taina Myllyharju, museum director, Tampere Art museum, chairman Kaisa Berry, artist Antti Haukka, project manager, Raitiotien kehitysohjelma Minna Kangasmaa, artist Seppo Kovala, board member, A.R. Winterin Muistosäätiö (was prevented from attending the meeting but has seen the competition proposals after classification by the Bureau and has expressed its views on the basis of the inspection) Jyrki Lehtimäki, environmental specialist, City of Tampere Hanna Montonen, community planning director, City of Tampere Heli Ryhänen, artist Jaakko Stenhäll, deputy mayor, City of Tampere Heini Orell, coordinaator, Frei Zimmer Oy, secretary, no vote

In addition, the work of both the prize committee and the executive commitee has been followed by the permission of the Finnish Artists' Association without the right to vote, amanuensis / art coordinator Janne Kauppinen from the Tampere Art Museum.

### 1.

The chairman opened the meeting at 14.15 on 16.6.

### 2.

The executive commitee was presented:

Taina Myllyharju, museum director, Tampere Art museum, chairman Kaisa Berry, artist Minna Kangasmaa, artist Heli Ryhänen, artist

Heini Orell, coordinaator, Frei Zimmer Oy, secretary, no vote

The executive commitee met 2.6.2020 and 3.6.2020

### 3.

The panel noted that 114 proposals had been received for the competition. The proposals can be found in the annex 1.

## 4.

The executive committee propose the following proposals for rejection: Proposal No 2 under alias 111179 did not comply with the provisions of the competition program, as the proposal lacked a title envelope and no contact information could be found on the accompanying memory stick. Proposal No. 72 under alias Ajassa does not comply with the provisions of the competition program, as it was received after the competition time on 2.4.2020 without a visible postmark. Proposals No. 106 Pietarin portti and No. 113 under alias VALO lack budgets, which was one of the requirements of the competition program.

The jury approved the executive committees' proposal and decided, in accordance with the Bureau's proposal, to reject the above proposals from the competition.

# 5.

The executive committee presented to the Board the way they have worked. The panel examined the grouping of proposals by the Bureau and their division into four categories (A, AB, B and C).

Category C contains proposals that do not fully meet the objectives of the competition or are otherwise unsuitable for the purpose or otherwise incomplete. Category C 95 proposals and a total of 4 rejected proposals can be found in Annex 1.

A total of 10 proposals have been placed in category B (in numerical order):

No 4 Ancylus, No 11 Umwelt, No 12 Hetkien huone, No 19 Olemus, No 21 Morottaja, No 41 Pyörre, No 51 Kannon nokassa, No 58 Niityn inspiraatio, No 78 Pollinator Sanctuary, No 103 Nimetön (Suuri kimppu)

2 proposals have been placed in category AB: No. 32 Ajan takaa and No. 39 Kestikievari

Class A, total of 3 proposals have been placed in the award category, as artistically high quality and feasible: Nro 56 Mittarimato, No 112 Fågelsträck – Navigatio Figures and No 107 AAPP.

6.

The executive committee unanimously approved the Bureau's grouping of proposals with the following changes and with only three final categories, A, B and C:

Proposal No 32 under alias Ajan takaa from class AB to class B and Proposal No 107 under the title AAPP is moved from class A to class B.

Proposal No. 39 under the pseudonym Kestikievari from class AB is raised to class A.

### It was decided to nominate in category A the proposals (in numerical order):

No 39 Kestikievari No 56 Mittarimato No 112 Fågelsträck – Navigatio Figures

### It was decided to nominate in category B (12) the proposals (in numerical order):

No 4 Ancylus No 11 Umwelt No 12 Hetkien huone No 19 Olemus No 21 Morottaja No 32 Ajan takaa No 41 Pyörre No 51 Kannon nokassa No 58 Niityn inspiraatio No 78 Pollinator Sanctuary No 103 Nimetön (Suuri kimppu) No 107 AAPP

The remaining 95 proposals + 4 rejected proposals remain in category C.

The final statements on the A and B proposals, drafted by the executive committee and finalized by the jury, can be found in Annex 2.

### 7.

The jury unanimously decided to award the first prize of EUR 10,000 to Proposal No. 112 Fågelsträck - Navigation Figures, under alias Fågelsträck - Navigation Figures.

The Board unanimously decided to award a second prize of € 5,000 to proposal No. 39 Kestikievari, alias Kestikievari.

The panel decided unanimously to award a third prize of € 3,000 to proposal No. 56 I don't wanna grow up, alias Mittarimato.

The board decided not to give separate recognition awards.

The contact information envelopes of the competitors who took part in the competition were opened starting from 3rd place in the ranking and it was stated that the prizes had gone to the following artists:

l prize	Proposal no 112 / Työryhmä Brrum
II prize	Proposal no 39 / Johanna Anttila and Pekka Jylhä
III prize	Proposal no 56 / Teija ja Pekka Isorättyä

It was decided to check that the winning candidate meets the conditions set out in the competition program for eligibility, as the Author Group is unknown to the prize committee in advance. The winner will only be announced after this.

### 9.

The chairman closed the meeting at 9.45 on 17.6.

### 10.

On the basis of the material submitted by the winning candidate (submitted on 18 June 2020), the panel decided at an e-mail meeting on 24 June 2020 to declare the winner of the competition to be proposal No. 112 Fågelsträck - Navigation Figures, with alias Fågelsträck - Navigation Figures.

The jury recommends that the winning work be implemented in accordance with the proposal in cooperation with the City of Tampere.

24.6.2020

On behalf of the jury:

Taina Myllyharju, museum director, Tampere Art museum, chairman

Kaisa Berry, artist Antti Haukka, project manager, Raitiotien kehitysohjelma Minna Kangasmaa, artist Seppo Kovala, board member, A.R. Winterin Muistosäätiö Jyrki Lehtimäki, environmental specialist, City of Tampere Hanna Montonen, community planning director, City of Tampere Heli Ryhänen, artist Jaakko Stenhäll, deputy mayor, City of Tampere

8.